This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lib Guide Header BYU Idaho McKay Library BYU Idaho Home

History  

Last Updated: Dec 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.byui.edu/hist Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

U.S. History Databases

  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers parts 1 & 2
    Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals (Gale)
    Like the British Library newspapers project and 19th Century U.S. Newspapers this collection covers the period 1800 to 1900. When complete it will make available full runs of nearly 600 titles, some of which exist only in a single copy.
  • America: History and Life
    Contains information on most topics relating to the history of the United States.
  • American Civil War Research
    Online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Contains information on >4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, with 15,000 photographs.
  • American County
    The states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania are included in American County Histories to 1900. New York & Pennsylvania are divided into 4 parts. Each part contains >12,000 pages of text, plates and maps from all counties.
  • American County Histories
    The states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania are included in American County Histories to 1900. New York & Pennsylvania are divided into 4 parts. Each part contains >12,000 pages of text, plates and maps from all counties.
  • American History in Video
    The largest & richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. Allows students & researchers to analyze historical events & the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial & governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage & important documentaries. This release includes over 3146 titles, equaling approximately 765 hours.
  • American Memory
    Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
  • American Periodical Series
    Digital images of articles from “Indexes to Early American Periodicals” (1741 to 1935), thought to include all known periodical publications that had their inception & ending during this period.
  • American Presidency Project
    Approximately 100,000 documents, beginning witgh George Washington. Includes: messages, papers, press conferences, partuy platforms, oral addresses, executive orders.
  • American Reference Library
    Full text for over 250 volumes, including Public Papers of the Presidents, Supreme Court decisions, and National Party Platforms.
  • ArchiveGrid (RLG)
    Archival collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. Researchers can learn about the items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
  • Early American Imprints (Evans 1639-1800)
    A foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
    ECCO contains English-language and foreign-language titles published in the UK between 1701 and 1800, plus thousands of important works from the Americas. 150,000 printed works (33 million pages) covering the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution.
  • First World War: Personal Experiences
    Containing digital images of a wide range of original documents, including diaries, letters, personal narratives, trench journals, scrapbooks, objects, and a wealth of visual sources, this resource provides a rich seam of information on personal experiences of war.
  • Fold3 (was Footnote)
    United States Military records; non-military resources include: city directories, naturalizations, vital records, Native American records
  • Heritage Quest (UMI)
    Assembles every extant U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials.
  • Historical Newspapers (Accessible Archives)
    The Virginia Gazette: 1736 - 1780; African American Newspapers: The 19th Century; The Liberator 1831-1865; The Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800; South Carolina Newspapers: 1732 - 1780
  • Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
    Contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers Covers 3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865 & originally printed in 16 different cities.
  • Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Poster and Ephemera
    Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America. The database holds >1400 images & will contain 75,000 when complete.
  • Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project (Gale
    The Federal Writers’ Project (FWP) was the most controversial and contentious program of the Work Projects Administration (WPA), an integral part of Franklin D. Roosevelt’s "New Deal." This bold, imaginative and wide-ranging enterprise is the key to understanding literature, culture and society in America during the Depression era.
  • London Low Life
    London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London
  • Making of America (MoA)
    Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Particularly strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, & science and technology.
  • Medieval Family Life
    This resource contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise these family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available. The original images and the transcriptions can be viewed side by side.
  • Nixon Years, 1969-1974
    These files enable researchers to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's notable achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation.
  • North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
    Includes 71 authors and approximately 10,000 pages of information which provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
  • North American Indian Thought and Culture
    The largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. With 100,000 pages of content when complete, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, the database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others.
  • Omega Sources
    A compilation of thousands of historical sources, including original documents, eyewitness accounts, and classical historical accounts. Materials are arranged in 8 major categories: World History; U.S. History; Science and Mathematics; Social Science; Literature; Political Science and Law; Language; Philosophy & Religion.
  • Oral History Online
    Indexing to >1,800 collections of oral history in English from around the world. By 4Q04, it will point to 300,000 pages of full text, 2,500 collections, 600 video files, and 1,600 audio files.
  • Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
    The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
  • Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
    Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
  • Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
    Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.
  • Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974
    Contains diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Currently has 35,000 pages; will expand to 150,000 pages of material at completion. NOTE: Some content might be offensive.
  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery
    A four-part collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. It includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials. The first part documents the debates surrounding slavery and its abolition in the U.S. but also in the UK and other European countries, the Caribbean, Latin America, and Africa.
  • The Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South (Gale)
    The Southern Literary Messenger was one of the most successful and influential literary magazines in the South. Founded by Thomas Willis White (and edited for a time by Edgar Allan Poe) the Messenger, according to the magazine’s editor James Ewell Heath in the first issue, was meant to serve as "a kind of pioneer, to scope out the land of literary promise in the South, and to report whether the same be fruitful or barren."
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set
    Reports, Documents & Journals of the U.S. Congress: 1817-1980
  • Virginia Company Archives
    This online project presents those Ferrar Papers which are in Magdalene College, Cambridge. They are reproduced by permission of the Master and Fellows of the college, with whom the copyright remains. In addition, transcripts of those documents that throw light on the Virginia Company of London are included, as are the four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London (Washington, D.C., 1906-35), edited by Susan Myra Kingsbury.

World History Databases

  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers
    Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
  • ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
    The ACLS Humanities E-Book Project is an online, fully searchable collection of nearly 2,000 high-quality books in history and the humanities, recommended and reviewed by historians.
  • Brill's New Pauly Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
    The best encyclopedia in English for classical studies. It covers both the ancient world and the reception of classics in the modern world.
  • British & Irish Women's Letters & Diaries
    Largest collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it will bring the personal experiences of more than 1,000 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
  • Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
    Original British Foreign Office documents from the National Archives of the UK, representing the majority of Britain's information flow from occupied territories in Europe, and from Germany itself after the cessation of normal peacetime diplomatic channels. Resistance, economic and social conditions and intelligence operations are all reported through telegrams, letters, coded messages and reports.
  • CultureGrams
    Extensive cultural reports for 190+ countries, states and provinces. Each report includes information about the country & its climate, people, customs & courtesies, lifestyle & society.
  • Encyclopedia of Diderot and d'Alembert
    Browse articles that have been translated from this 18th century encyclopedia. First published over the course of more than twenty years (1751-1777), the 32 volumes of the Encyclopédie include 21 volumes of text with more than 70,000 articles on subjects ranging from asparagus to zodiac. The remaining 11 volumes contain beautifully engraved plates illustrating many of the articles. The Encyclopédie was the major achievement of the French Enlightenment whose aim, in Diderot's words, was to "change the common way of thinking" through the expansion of knowledge and the development of critical modes of thought.
  • EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
    Primary historical documents from Western Europe, includes: selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations.

  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    A bibliographic database of European works that relate to the Americas. This resource comes from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.” The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
  • Films on Demand
    A state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easy to incorporate educational programs from Films Media Group into your content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog system.
  • Foreign Office Files for China
    The complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan from 1949 to 1980.
  • Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
    A collection of over 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. The interviews consist of over 10,000 recorded hours of videotape.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Guide to the history of the world (except North America) from 1450 to the present.
  • Internet History Sourcebook Project
    The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Paul Halsall, editor.

  • In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and other Personal Narratives
    In the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index (only) of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. Includes index to collections in various repositories.
  • Iraq, 1914-1974: The Middle East Online
    An essential contemporary resource for the understanding of modern Iraq, this online archive of primary source documents delivers first-hand government records covering the period from the dismantling of the Ottoman Empire, the creation of the new state, up to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
  • Medieval Travel Writing
    Manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia.
  • Oral History Online
    Indexing to >1,800 collections of oral history in English from around the world. By 4Q04, it will point to 300,000 pages of full text, 2,500 collections, 600 video files, and 1,600 audio files.
  • Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700
    The quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form. This database from Adam Matthew Digital contains manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries which have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.
  • Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
    Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London.
  • Testaments to the Holocaust (Gale)
    Electronic holdings of the Wiener Library in London, England. The collection includes Nazi propaganda materials; Hitler Youth materials; pamphlets, books; and a rare encyclopedia of anti-Semitism. The core of the collection is 1,200 eyewitness accounts dealing with the pogrom of 1938 through the scope of the Holocaust. Also included are photographic materials.
  • Victorian Popular Culture
    An essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the 19th & early 20th centuries. Includes spiritualism, sensation, magic, circuses, sideshows, freaks, music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment.
  • World History Collection (EBSCO)
    Includes history from Africa, Asia, North & South America, Europe & the Middle East. Contains nearly 200 full-text titles, covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, sociology and more
  • World History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
    Documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content is global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
  • World Vital Records
    World Vital Records provides access to a variety of family history resources including databases in the following categories: Census; Birth, Marriage, and Death; Military; Immigration; Family Trees; Family Histories; Newspaper Collections; and Location specific databases.
    Interdisciplinary Resources
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
 

Find a Journal or Newspaper in the McKay Library

Find A Journal/Newspaper by Title

General Databases

Each of these databases contain information on a wide variety of topics. 

  • Academic Search Premier
    Provides full text for nearly 4,600 publications, including nearly 3,500 peer-reviewed (scholarly) journals.
  • ProQuest
    Index to 4,000+ periodicals, many full-text. This link searches multiple databases, including Research Library, ABI/Inform, Dissertations & Theses, & ProQuest Newspapers.
  • JSTOR
    Back issues of nearly 800 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Coverage is from the first issue to 3-5 years prior to the current year.
  • OmniFile
    1994-Present Topics: business, education, science, humanities, social sciences, general
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip