Research Steps
Reference Area
Step 1: Finding Background
-
Library of Congress Subject Headings (Link to the Library of Congress Classification Online or find the Big Red Books in the Commons/Reference area of the Library)Geography [G-GF]BT Earth sciences
See also specific places -- Geography
NT Economic geography
Maps
Physical geographyGeography -- Dictionaries [G101-G108]Geography -- History [G80-G99] -
General Encyclopedias
-
Specialized Reference SourcesOxford Reference: Dictionaries and reference titles on numerous topics.CIA World Factbook: Introductory information on countries, and issues affecting that country.CQ Researcher: Reports on and analysis of news and issues
Subject Encyclopedias for Geography Topics
- Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students
- American Midwest: An Interpretive Encyclopedia
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of China: Modern and Historic Views of the World's Newest and Oldest Global Power
- Companion Encyclopedia of Geography: The Environment and Humankind
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary British Culture
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
- Encyclopedia of Deserts
- Encyclopedia of Ecotourism
- Encyclopedia of GIS
- Encyclopedia of India
- Encyclopedia of Indianapolis
- Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
- Encyclopedia of Modern China
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians
- Encyclopedia of Rural America: The Land and People
- Encyclopedia of Russian History
- Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
- Encyclopedia of Tourism
- Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia
- Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Ireland
- Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
- Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
- Utah History Encyclopedia
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
Primary Source Librarian |


Loading...
