Organization Websites
Links may change. This alphabetical list can be used to 'google' or use menus to find where links have moved.
American Library Association (ALA) has committees of librarians that select Newbery and Caldecott winners and honor books.
Recommended Reading
Children's Book Council (CBC) is an organization of publishers. Publishers may have links to author websites.
The tab for Reading Lists includes information about their joint sponsorship with International Reading Association of the Children's Choice Awards
Children's Literature Association of Utah honors five categories of literature. Many other states and regions have special children's literature awards.
Children's Literature on the Web is maintained by a librarian at the University of Calgary
Bestseller lists include Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Borders book distributors. Publisher's Weekly is more current in our online periodical list.
Children's Literature - Electronic Journals and Book Reviews is their link but our subscriptions will probably include more current titles.
Interational Children's Digital Library is sponsored by a foundation to promote reading with multicultural titles. Spanish language version available.
International Reading Association has lesson plans and list of their IRA Children's and Young Adult (chosen by children & YA) Jt project with CBC
Pacific Northwest Library Association has Young Reader's Choice Awards
Reading Rocket now publishes Authors/ Illustrators Everyone Should Know
Other commercial sites have free content see the list on the Teacher's Library Center or Sites on the right.
TLC
Gale Literature
Gale's Literature Resource Center - Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of >120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes signed essays on >1,600 authors and literary genres from Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors contain the full text of 600 Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.
- Gale Literary Index tab will provide volume and page for print sources that are not online.
- Children's Literature Review (Juv PN1009.A1 C5139)
- Contemporary Authors (Ref Z1224.C8)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (Ref PN451.D53) see individual volumes
- Something about the Author (Juv PN451.C65)
- Encyclopedia of Literature
- Authors on the Highway gives authors appearance (Publisher's Weekly)
- Timeline gives a visual chronology
- Author and Title searches can be simple or advanced
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) - NEW! One-stop search for literary reviews from centuries ago to today. Includes Children’s Literature Review.
Something About the Author (GALE) - Thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators for researchers of children's and young adult literature. Displays personal data, addresses, career, awards and honors, writings, sidelights, adaptations, additional sources and more.
Cross searching of these three databases was announced April 3, 2009.
Other Links
- Audiobooks (NetLibrary) - Over 1,800 electronic audiobooks that can be downloaded to your computer and transferred to a Windows Media Player-compliant device. (They will NOT run on iPods.) Also part of LiLI
- Book Review Digest Retrospective (Wilson) Coverage: 1905-1982. Provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction in the English language
- Books in Print (Bowker) (limited simultaneous users) allows advanced searches of awards and forthcoming titles (compare to Amazon.com)
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database -
More than 900,000 catalog records for child-focused media and 130,000+ critical reviews of thousands of children's books. - Children's Book and Play Review - The Children's Book and Play Review is produced by Brigham Young University's Harold B. Lee Library, Department of Teacher Education and Department of Theatre and Media Arts.
-
Education - Primary (Searchasaurus) - EBSCO database for Elementary Education children includes Middle School island. Includes magazine articles written by children.
Free sites
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait